I Won!

We all dream of it.  Financial freedom, the ability to travel at will, the cars, the mansion, vacation houses, butlers, jewelry, the ultimate man (or woman) cave, your own posse, and a laundry list of other haphazard ideas that are associated with the life alternating experience that is the lottery.  And after months and months of pressing my luck and wasting my money, it has finally paid off.  I finally won!

I told myself if this day ever came, I’d stay true to my proclivities.  I wouldn’t move to a far off land; I wouldn’t turn up my nose towards others in less fortunate circumstances and I certainly wouldn’t estrange those who have made me who I am today.  In fact, my first thoughts were these.

I would make certain my parents and siblings were very well taken care of.  Pick a car, any car and pick a house, any house I’d tell them.  Secondly, I’d donate a portion of the winnings towards various charities throughout my local community.  And third, I’d put enough back so each of my three children could get their doctorate degrees from Sarah Lawrence College in Yonkers, N.Y.

As for me?  The first thing I’m going to do is buy my own private jet and hire my very own private pilot.  I often dream of the day I can call him or her up and say, “The family would like to go to the Bahamas for two weeks.  Meet us at the airport in three hours.”  We’ll met, they’ll fire up the jet, and we’ll all fly off into the sky leaving all none of our worries far, far behind.  Of course after that, I’ll shower my wife with all the jewelry she could wear, build the ultimate man cave, buy a car for each day of the week, purchase two vacation houses per continent (except maybe Antarctica), and fabricate a lifetime supply of toilet paper rolls made out of hundred dollar bills (and then use them).

I’d now like to present to you proof of my winnings and show you the actual winning lottery ticket.  I must warn you, I’ve already reported my winning ticket to the Hoosier Lottery, so all you Photoshop junkies, don’t try to get cute and replicate the ticket.  Drum roll please…

…well, it looks like all those hopes and aspirations will have to wait a little while longer.  I only won $2.  I’ll try not to spend it all in one place.

30 thoughts on “I Won!

  1. This is about how I win these things too! It’s still exciting though, isn’t it? I also love to daydream about what I would do if I hit it big… that’s part of the fun!

    • I think I was much more excited about winning than the $2. I hardly ever win anything so when I do I get REAL excited!

      Nice seeing you again!

  2. I LOVE it! Congratulations. Don’t spend it all at once. 🙂
    Thanks for your lovely comment about “Simple.” I’m extremely techy too – just love the simple life…. and Angry Birds

    • My pleasure Belinda. Angry Birds is almost as addicting as cigarettes. I remember when it first came out for the smartphones I’d play it for HOURS at a time! Somehow, someway I was able to whisk it away and haven’t played it since. Probably a good thing…

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. I was suspicious right from the beginning. I kept thinking, if he really won a lot of money, would he be spending his time blogging about it?

    Great post, Joe. I hope you really do win big someday.

  4. I have to admit after considering the idea of spending two weeks in the Bahamas I was lost in thought for a few minues. But a huge congrats to you! How did you spend it? By buying another one like most people do? Once I won 12 bucks on a scratch off ticket and you’d think Ed McMahon was at my door I was so flipping excited.

    • It’s funny you ask. I actually turned my tickets in and the cashier said “That’s $2” and then stood there and stared at me. After a few awkward seconds, she asked, “Do you just want the cash back?” I said yes and she looked a little disappointed. Guess she wanted me to buy more, but I did not fall into temptation understanding I’d likely lose my “big” payout on the next scratch off.

      Nice to see you visiting Darla!

    • Mmmm…a grande doubly chocolaty chip frappuccino does sound delicious! I’m positive that’ll be more than $2 though.

      Nice to see a new visitor. Thanks for stopping by Barb!

    • First time visitors are awesome! And the fact you’ll be a repeat visitor (hopefully) is even more awesomer (yes, I just made that word up).

      Welcome to My Haphazard Proclivities. And thanks for commenting!

    • Excellent Jake! As a blogger and one that appears to make his living in technology, I’m sure you can appreciate the disaster that could result if the SOPA/PIPA bill is enacted. I understand the purpose behind the bill, which is to limit or cease pirating of copyrighted material but those sites that exist because of user-input such as blogging sites, YouTube, Wikipedia, etc.; those are the sites that will indirectly be affected by this bill. This is a way the government can control and limit our Freedom of Speech. Most people don’t realize our Freedom of Speech includes the Freedom to Publish and the Freedom of Expression.

      I hope it makes sense to you why it’s so important to me.

      Thank you for standing up with me!

      • At first I thought it was your own organization lol ,
        that`s why i refuse fast but now i fully understand it
        so Let`s make it happen 🙂

  5. Wow — don’t spend it all in one place! 🙂

    Loved this post. Truly hilarious. This line in particular resonated with me, “The family would like to go to the Bahamas for two weeks.” Ahhh… Now that’s a dream!

    It was so fun to hear how you’ve planned all your un-won fortunes. That’s good, because you’ll be prepared for your next big payout, and won’t have to sit and wonder what to do with the next $2 that comes your way.

    • If I ever actually win the lottery, my preparedness will allow me to hit the door running, so to speak, LoL!

      I am always interested in what other people would do with their winnings as well, quite intriguing. Glad you liked it!

      And by the way, for being the person that made the 100th comment on my blog (not considering my replies), you’ve just won $100! Just kidding, but you seriously did provide comment 100! Thank you!

        • PS — I don’t know why you weren’t on my Blogroll. I just checked and your link wasn’t there! I remember adding you a while ago, as I had to click over here to figure out how to spell “haphazard.” Hmmm… The internet gremlins ate your link, I guess. Anyway, you are on there now. 🙂

    • If I’m correct, I think we all have a better chance of getting struck by lightning and being bitten by a shark at the same time than we do winning the lottery. I guess I’ll keep dreaming about that phone call to my pilot…

      Thanks for dropping by!

  6. Congrats Joe! 🙂 It does not about money only; I am happy that at least destiny or luck what you may say it; but it made you a winner. I know you can earn lots of money by your own hard work & talent. You won only $2, but still destiny made you a winner. So celebrate it! 🙂

    • This is why I like you Arindam; you always find the good in things. I guess all things considered, I paid $2 for the ticket and got my $2 back. So while I didn’t actually win any money at all, I did have a brief moment of excitement and the thrill of victory!

      Always a pleasure to see you buddy!

Leave a comment