Halloween 2011 – Part I

One of my children’s favorite times of the year, Halloween is amongst us and Trick or Treat is tonight!  The sugar induced frenzy that is Trick or Treat is a special one for my family this year.  You see, our youngest child Wyatt, was too young to partake in the festivities last year.  At only 8 months old last year at this time, he had to sit in his stroller and could only watch while his sisters raked in all the goodies.  I couldn’t imagine the envy he must have been feeling.  But this year is going to be different for our son, as he’ll be trudging up to each and every door flanked by his sisters while they ALL cash in on the candy.

To get into the Halloween spirit, my family carved pumpkins last night.  Again, my son didn’t have the slightest idea what his sisters were doing as they carved their Jack ‘O Lanterns last year and by his demeanor this year; he was none the wiser.  All he knew was there was a mess to be made and much like most young boys, he welcomed it with open arms.

A little hesitant at first, he’d point and exclaimed “Eww!” at the sight of the pumpkin’s guts, but after getting a little warmed up, he was enthralled at this newly found concept he was experiencing.



Stay tuned for Part II of “Halloween 2011” as I’ll be highlighting our children’s Trick or Treat experience.

13 thoughts on “Halloween 2011 – Part I

  1. Pingback: 7 x 7 Link Award Acceptance | My Haphazard Proclivities

  2. I read parts 2 and 3 first, and so had to click over to read part 1. So glad I did! 🙂 Isn’t it amazing, how when the kids are so young, every Halloween is like Halloween for the first time? I can see it all over your son’s face. My kids are 3 and 4, and they don’t remember what the inside of a pumpkin looks like either. We actually haven’t carved ours yet (can’t believe it!), because we had a big Halloween party, and we’ve all been super busy. Now I’m thinking I’m going to have to make a Thanksgiving-themed pumpkin. 🙂

  3. It’s one of the messiest things you can do inside the house, but judging from that last picture, I’d say it was worth the effort. I hope they all have fun tonight.

    • Indeed it is Charles. The girls did a fabulous job and my boy had a blast with it.

      They’ll definitely have fun tonight, I’m just hoping my wife and I can deal with 3 cases of sugar induced psychosis.

        • Agreed Arindam. bronxboy55 a.k.a. Charles is one of my favorite bloggers/writers as well. He was one of the first bloggers I subscribed too.

          I owe him a debt of gratitude as it was one of his posts in which he listed my blog as one he visited shortly after being Freshly Pressed for “Don’t Ask, Don’t Yell”. Because he listed my blog in his post “Pressed For Time” and due to the volume of subscribers/visitors he has, my blog drew a lot of attention rather quickly.

          It’s always nice when someone who has garnered as much success as Charles has, takes time to come view your blog.

          • You are absolutely right bro… He was one of the first bloggers i also subscribed too…. Actually i also came to know about your blog through his post “Pressed for time”. So i thank him because due to him i came across a wonderful blogger & great person like you.

            I am just waiting for my turn, when Charles will visit my blog… lets c when he is going to make my day 🙂

  4. Joe I do not have much idea about Halloween just like your son.
    What I enjoy most in this post of yours was your son’s expression in those above photos.
    The best line of your post was, ” All he knew was there was a mess to be made and much like most young boys, he welcomed it with open arms.”
    I just thought for a moment someone wrote this for me. 🙂 As if there is a mess to be made, I welcome it with open arms.
    For me star of this post is your Son !! I am his fan now 🙂

    • He loved it. Once he figured out what he was doing (just making a mess), he was really animated about the whole situation. He was pulling out the guts, throwing them everywhere, laughing, and having a good time with it!

      I’m glad you liked it Arindam!

Leave a comment