Technology Tutorials

I think we can all agree technology makes all of our lives a little easier; if you can learn to harness the power and capabilities of whatever devices or technologies you are working with.  Yes, I will admit technology and computers can be extremely frustrating when they don’t work correctly or you fail to configure something properly and can’t figure out why, but in the overall grand scheme of things, there are far more pros than cons.

Since calling information technology my career field, I’ve learned countless ways how to make technology work for me, which is a key aspect of embracing technology.  In my current role as a support technician for an Internet service provider, far too often do I hear my customers remark, “I’m not very computer savvy…” or “I don’t know how this stuff works, I just want it to work right…”  Let me fill you in on a little secret.  Technology is here to stay, so you might as well get used to it!  And while you’re at it, you should probably take a class or pick up a book and read about what you’re interested in or having problems with.  Also remember this, Google is your friend!

Meet your new best friend!

Which brings me to the point of this post; the start of my technology tutorials section.  I’ll be writing these tutorials, “how-to’s” if you will, in an effort to pass along some useful and awesome tips to reduce the friction between technology and human interaction.  Don’t fret though, I’ll still be offering up my “normal” haphazard posts my 18 followers (thank you) are used to, however, I will be adding technology tutorials here and there as I stumble upon them myself or feel as though something is worth passing along.

Why do this though?  It’s simple.  To operate in today’s society and workplace, one must have basic technology/computer skills.  Everywhere you turn, technology is staring at us.  Hell, think about all the things you do on a daily basis that involves modern technology.  Checking your e-mail, yep.  Paying bills, yep.  Writing a resume for that job, yep.  Making a phone call, yep.  Watching TV, yep.  Reading your favorite WordPress blogger’s post, yep.  Swiping your ATM card to receive cash, yep.  Tuning to your favorite radio station, yep.  All these things and millions of other activities we engage in on a frequent basis all involve the use of some type of technology.  And in all these instances, your basic computer components, both hardware and software, do 90% of the work for you.

It is my hope that by providing these technology tutorials, I can help bridge the gap between technology and humans and like I do, help make your technology work for you.

Charles Darwin would roll over in his grave if he knew this was going to happen…

6 thoughts on “Technology Tutorials

  1. Nice thought Joe. And i am going to agree with you on the this post. I also believe technology helps, but only if you know how to deal with it. So it will be good, if you are planning to share your IT knowledge with others. I am sure it will help everyone, who visits your blog.

    • A man of your word, I like it. My only hope through these tutorials is to spread a little knowledge so people can appreciate the power and capabilities of modern technology and make them realize how much easier our lives are thanks to it.

  2. You know, Joe, the hardest part for us “ol’ folks” was running faster than the dinosaurs! hehehe

    Here’s your official, official notification, my friend:

    Congratulations! It’s official – The Academy, okay, mj monaghan, has recognized your wonderful blog with the Versatile Blogger Award!

    Here’s the envelope with more details: http://wp.me/p1JIsL-cQ!

    • Oh Michael you shouldn’t have (actually you should have)! You’re way to kind for words. After accepting some awards over the last month or so, I had my eye on the Versatile Blogger award. Thank you so much!

    • Yes ma’am it is! Growing up during the explosion of the Internet and modern technology, I am very spoiled. How did you guys operate without it!?

Leave a comment