Enough Is Enough

Becoming a parent means much more than walking your child to the bus stop on their first day of school, watching their first organized sport, taking them to their first social event, chaperoning their first date, or watching them graduate from high school.  Becoming a parent means you get to be a kid again!  You get a chance to relive your childhood through them by watching cartoon movies you liked as a child yourself, playing with action figures, and playing tag on the playground at the local park.  But I’ve recently learned being the father of a two-year old boy who has an unbreakable obsession is starting to take its toll of the rest of the family.

My two-year old son is your typical boy.  He loves Hot Wheels, his miniature Nerf footballs and basketballs, watching sports with his daddy, and playing with his WWE wrestling action figures.  Recently, he has developed a niche though; he has begun watching movies.  At first it was Baby Einsteins, which he really enjoyed; that is until mommy and I introduced him to the Disney Pixar movies.

As a young boy, I loved watching Disney movies.  Aladdin (1992), The Little Mermaid (1989), The Lion King (1994), and the original Toy Story (1995) were some of my notable favorites.  Their stories were gripping, their characters were often extremely hilarious, and the feeling I felt when I watched them was indescribable.  I remember watching these movies on a rather frequent basis; that is to say I’d watch one of them at least once, sometimes twice a day.  After arriving home with my mother, I’d run straight to my room, pop in one of these (now) classics, and fixate myself on the magic that was Disney.

For the last few years, my daughters have done this very thing.  Beauty and The Beast, Cinderella, Snow White and The Seven Dwarfs, and most recently, Tangled, has frequented our DVD player.  As a father, I didn’t and couldn’t get into these movies and often found myself looking for something else to do during movie time.  And unlike the present, movie time was generally restricted to weekends only; that was until now.

A couple of weeks, maybe a month ago, my wife purchased the DVD/Blu-Ray combo pack of Toy Story 3.  And shortly after that, purchased the DVD/Blu-Ray combo pack of Cars.  I must admit, I was pretty excited, even at the age of 28.  Considering the original Toy Story was my favorite Disney Pixar movie, I was thrilled with the idea of another edition of Toy Story.  Also, I’d never seen Cars before but had heard that it was a pretty good movie, in typical Pixar fashion.  Now…I want to kill her!  Although I think discarding these two movies might be a better idea.

Disney Pixar's Cars - Copyright Disney

Since purchasing these two movies, my son has single handily taken over the family room and our 56″ TV!  “Buzz, Buzz, Buzz”, he’ll excitedly run around yelling until someone restarts Toy Story 3, even if it is for the 5th time in a row!  And if it’s not Toy Story 3, it’s Cars.  To make matters worse, movie time is anytime to him!  In fact, as soon as me and my children walk in the door it’s “Buzz, Buzz, Buzz!”

Disney Pixar's Toy Story 3 - Copyright Disney

Over the course of these last couple of weeks, I’m confident I could recite the entire script of Toy Story 3 and Cars without the assistance of the movie playing.  I’m really surprised our Blu-Ray player hasn’t started smoking, given the fact it generally runs for approximately 6 or 7 hours without a breather.  Yet my son will lay there, cuddled up with his Cars blanket and pillow and watch them each time like it’s the first time.

I now officially hate Cars and the Toy Story trilogy!  I want to take those discs and throw them frisbee style into the wall.  I haven’t watched Jeopardy or any football for the last couple of weeks because my son absolutely refuses to watch the movies in his room, which was just fitted for a TV and DVD player to aid him in sleeping in his own bed.

Oh, I forgot to mention.  The DVD versions of the combo pack reside in my wife’s Pacifica so our son can watch them when we leave the house…ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!

Leave a Reply

