Post A Week 2012 – Weekly Photo Challenge

Over the last couple of weeks, I’ve been pondering ways I can beef up my blog.  While less is generally more, the arrival of 2012 has got me in the mood to add something new to my blog.  What immediately came to mind was this.  I had a desire to devise some type of weekly posting about a topic.  Here are some things I came up with initially.  I could post a riddle once a week and see if anybody could answer correctly, or post a computer related “how-to”, or maybe a joke or something along those lines.  But I found something much better!

I’ve decided that I’m going to participate in WordPress’ Post A Week 2012 – Weekly Photo Challenge!

Here’s how it works in case anyone else would like to join me!

1.  Every Friday, WordPress will provide a theme for creative inspiration.  You take a photograph or photographs based on your interpretation of the given theme, and post them on your blog each week.

2.  To make it easy for others to check out your photos, title your blog post “Weekly Photo Challenge: (theme of the week)” and be sure to use a “postaday2012″ or “postaweek2012″ tag.

3.  Subscribe to The Daily Post so that you don’t miss out on weekly challenge announcements.  Sign up via the email subscription link in the sidebar or RSS.

I’ve conveniently placed a Post A Week 2011 (come on WordPress, it’s 2012) badge in my sidebar linking readers directly to their site if you’re interested in playing along.

I particularly LOVE this idea because if anybody needs creative inspiration, it’s me.  Plus, I have a mild interest in photography so it’s the best of both worlds.

The first Friday of 2012 is January 6th, which is in just two days!  I’ve got to get my camera ready…oh wait, the only decent camera I have is on my phone, although it is 8 megapixels mind you.  Not bad for a phone I suppose.

So saddle up everyone, dust that camera (or phone) off, and join me in the Weekly Photo Challenge!

6 thoughts on “Post A Week 2012 – Weekly Photo Challenge

    • I hope so Michael. It sounded too fun and interesting to pass up. I’m anxiously awaiting tomorrow when they release the next theme. Take care!

  1. All the best for the challenge Joe. 🙂 It’s a good challenge. Go with it. I am waiting for the Friday to see what you are going to post.
    There are also a challenge that is going on, 366 days and 366 photographs of a person’s choice , no special theme for that one. If you want you can take part in that also.

    • I’m glad you are as excited about it as I am!

      As far as the 366 (it is a Leap Year isn’t?) is concerned, I simply do not have the time to partake in such an activity, but I do like the idea.

      Thanks for your unconditional support Arindam!

Leave a Reply

