2011 Blogging Year in Review

Just when I thought WordPress was the coolest thing since me the magic bullet blender thing I gave my wife this Christmas, I recently found it was even cooler than I thought!  What makes them cooler than I thought you ask?  The fact they provided me (along with the other 348,000+ WordPressers) with a 2011 year in review report, that’s what!

Here is an excerpt of my 2011 review.

A San Francisco cable car holds 60 people. This blog was viewed about 2,900 times in 2011. If it were a cable car, it would take about 48 trips to carry that many people.

I’m not going to go into details as I am providing a link to my full report at the end of this post, but I did want to mention a few things and people who made my blog what it is today.

Top Referring Sites Charles at Mostly Bright Ideas and Arindam at Being Arindam

A gracious and humble bow to Charles and Arindam for their patronage and support.

Charles featured my blog in his post “Pressed for Time” on Oct 23, 2011, a post Charles published in an effort to deflect his fame (my words, not his) after recently being Freshly Pressed for “Don’t Ask, Don’t Yell“.  I couldn’t help but to feel sympathy for Charles during this time.  After 927 comments over a period of 2 weeks while his post remained on the highly visible front page, I think I’d try to deflect the attention elsewhere as well.  But in Charles’ defense, he made sure to respond to all his visitors in true WordPress fashion.  As as result of Charles’ overwhelming success and his thoughtfulness by featuring my blog in his post, I received a great number of visitors via his referral.  Well done Charles and thank you for what you’ve done to my blog!

I’ve alluded to this before and I’ll mention it again.  Arindam is by far my most frequent visitor and has brought a lot of his friends along with him.  By consistently commenting on my posts, nominating me for various blogging awards, as well as placing my blog in his blogroll, those who visit Arindam’s blog often venture over to mine.  Thank you so much for your support and motivation Arindam!

My blog wouldn’t be the same without Charles and Arindam.  Thank you both very much!

Most Comments Arindam at Being Arindam

It should come as no surprise Arindam commented more on my posts than anyone else in 2011.  Again, thank you Arindam for your support!

Where did my visitors come from?

People from all over the world visited my blog.  In fact, I had at least one visitor from each of the inhabitable continents!  Countries included the United States (of course), the Netherlands, Bahamas, Chile, Australia, India, Mexico, Ghana, Morocco, Argentina, Indonesia, South Korea, and the Philippines just to name a few.  To all my visitors I’d like to say:

Cпасибо, terima kasih, merci, danke, grazie, gracias, teşekkür ederim, salamat, þakka þér, aliquam, obrigado, and finally, thank you!

You can view the rest of my 2011 blog statistics and report here!

Happy blogging in 2012!

4 thoughts on “2011 Blogging Year in Review

  1. I wish 2012 be your banner blogging year, my friend! At the end your review will say: The New Orleans Superdome holds 100,000 people. It would take three sold out Superdomes to hold your blog visitors.

  2. No need to thank us Joe. It’s your blog and you deserve every appreciation and recognition for it. I hope this year, you will get lots of readers to your blog. One more time i am saying you, “You are a wonderful Writer Joe. ” Just keep on writing! May both of our blogs, reach a new height this year. At least let’s work towards it and hope it will. Best wishes Buddy!

    • Thank you Arindam. I do hope I can take my blog to new heights this year. I was looking at my post count for January and it’s already equal to the amount of posts I posted in November and December. This new year has rejuvenated me! I hope it does the same for you, as I love reading your new material. Take care!

Leave a Reply

