Candle Lighter Award Acceptance

To say I am confounded by the myriad number of awards I’ve received this week would be an understatement.  Arindam at Being Arindam, my most frequent visitor, was kind enough to nominate me for the Candle Lighter Award a couple of days ago.

This award is for those bloggers whose words light the way through the blogosphere.  It originated for blogs “…that bring light to the world [and offer] inspiration, hope, optimism, good advice, faith filled assurances, and even humor.”

If there’s anything I’ve learned since I began blogging again around August 2011, it’s that blogging is a marathon, not a sprint.  As bloggers, we aren’t going to experience instant “fame”.  In fact, “fame” might not be the goal or reason we started blogging in the first place.  Like most people, I welcome the comments, subscriptions, and likes, however, I blog because I love sharing my experiences and I love to write.  But to know your fellow bloggers enjoy what you are sharing and writing about; to know someone can relate to your experiences; to know somebody, somewhere is inspired, touched, motivated, or rejuvenated by what you’ve written or shared is truly an awesome feeling.  And this is what the Candle Lighter Award is all about.  Acknowledging and rewarding those that inspire, touch, motivate, and rejuvenate.

It’s amazing what a little recognition can do for the “average” writer’s spirits.  Just when you’ve thought you’ve written about everything you can think of; just when you think nobody is paying enough attention to you; and just when you’re ready to throw in the towel, along comes someone or something that picks you back up and motivates you to write more.  Which brings me to a brief but funny story.

I try not to blog while I’m at home with my family, as we have limited time together as it is due to me and my wife’s chaotic work schedules, her school schedule, and our children’s schedule.  However, there are times when a blog-worthy topic slithers into my brain and I want/need to get it typed out before it drips out of my ears.  Just as I sit down and prepare my masterpiece post, she asks, “What are you doing?”  “Blogging”, I answer.  Silence follows but so does the eye rolling.  I explain to her, “Honey, I have followers now, I have people who depend on me writing.”  And another eye roll.  She loves me!

Okay, the picture is a little exaggeration, but you get the point.

Another thing I’ve learned about this awesome concept we call blogging, is the WordPress community as a whole is extremely and unconditionally supportive and inspirational.  Let’s be honest, not all of us were born as natural writers, photographers, or comedians, but everywhere you turn someone is giving somebody praise and/or words of encouragement.  Everywhere you turn one can be inspired by a photo, a story, a life experience, or a comical piece on the jealousy we feel when we see the box of a big screen TV resting on the curb after Christmas.  So in light of the Candle Lighter Award and its purpose, I want to nominate EVERYBODY for this award.  That’s right, the whole WordPress community!  And because there are no rules or protocol for this award, nobody can stop me!

Congratulations members of the WordPress community, you’ve been nominated for the Candle Lighter Award!

4 thoughts on “Candle Lighter Award Acceptance

    • Indeed Charles. As I told Arindam, had it not been for you two, my blog would probably still be unnoticed. I mean that.

      When I first started looking for a site to host my blog, I couldn’t help but to notice how great WordPress really was; in all facets. The support is unspeakable, and no matter what words I use to describe it, it’s never going to fully explain how glad I am to be surrounded by such great, giving, motivating, encouraging people.

  1. Joe that’s why, i keep on visiting your blog. You have such a pure heart, which makes each post of real and beautiful. You do not write because you want to get praised by others, or to get lots of likes and comments. You write because you want to write. As i keep on saying you, your blog deserves more and i am going to stick to that.
    I just hope, after reading this post, the whole WordPress community is going to realize your worth. Best wishes buddy. 🙂

    • You are too damn awesome Arindam! Seriously, you rock! Had it not been for you and our blogging God Charles, my blog would be nothing. As soon you as put me on your blogroll and as soon as Charles placed my blog in his “Pressed for Time” post, I started getting the momentum I needed.

      I like it very much when you come around and express your kind words and encouragement. It’s people like you, Charles, Melissa, and all the others that really make blogging on WordPress such a rewarding and wonderful experience. I can’t thank you enough!

Leave a Reply

