PSE out; PS CS5 Ext in

Adobe Photoshop CS5 Extended

To hell with Photoshop Elements!  I’ve moved on to bigger and better things; Photoshop CS5 Extended!  I figured if I’m going to take a serious interest in photo editing and manipulation, I might as well have a full-featured program that’ll guide me to where I want to go with it.  Photoshop CS5 Extended is an incredibly powerful and popular photo editing program where the sky’s the limit.  And because of its popularity, one doesn’t have to go far to learn the intricacies of the program.  There are hundreds of thousands of tutorials all over the Web for every user; from the newbies (like myself) all the way up to the super advanced.

As with any new subject or interest that I take part in, I generally study the material first then move on to practical exercises, then I’m off and running on my own.  With PSE, I read as much as I could on the topic including the various features, tools, the capabilities of PSE, the background on it, the development, etc.  Once I felt more comfortable with PSE’s user interface and the tools available through PSE, I started engaging in instructional and actual photo manipulation tutorials.  However, most if not all the tutorials I came across were based on Photoshop CS5 or Photoshop CS5 Extended.  While some of the tutorials were compliant with PSE, most were not, which led to a great deal of frustration and head scratching (…where is that button?  Why can’t I do this?  Etc.).  It was kind of like trying to learn Windows 7 Enterprise while using Windows 7 Home Edition; and it was because of this I decided to switch over to CS5 Extended.

When I first opened PS CS5 Extended, the user interface was very similar to PSE…but with many more options and tools.  While I did ditch PSE, I’m glad I got to work with it for a couple of weeks because it allowed me to get straight to work with PS CS5 Extended…and that’s what I did.  Check out here!

Leave a Reply

