Guest Appearance

Over the last couple of weeks I’ve been toying with an idea.  An idea I think is brilliant, yet I didn’t know how to approach it, how to go about implementing it, and most importantly, if anybody else would buy into it.  Overall it seems to work out for most people so why not me?  Sir Elton John and Eminem pulled it off at the 2006 Grammy’s.  Former United States’ presidents George W. Bush and Bill Clinton were able to do it in 2010 after an earthquake pummeled Haiti.  And on April Fool’s Day 1997, Wheel of Fortune host Pat Sajak and Jeopardy host Alex Trebek made it work as well. 

So I got to thinking, what if I were to team up with someone?  Someone completely different from myself but someone who shares an equal interest.  Two completely separate but equal parts joining forces for the greater good.  My idea was to invite a guest author to write a post for my blog.  I mean, who doesn’t like a guest appearance every now and again?  Who wouldn’t like the unity and diversity it introduces?

A couple of days ago, I extended an offer to a friend of mine to submit an article for my blog and as expected, he selflessly accepted.  Before he accepted however, I thought I’d beat him to the punch and answer the inevitable question “What do you want me to write about?”  I told him and I quote, “I want you to write about whatever you want to write about…I want you to be open-minded and feel free to write what you wish.”  After all, I didn’t think it would be fair for me to ask someone completely different from myself to write about a particular subject nor did I want to influence or manipulate his freedom of expression.

With that said, My Haphazard Proclivities, which up until now has been solely authored by yours truly, will have a special guest author publishing a post tomorrow.  Please come back and make sure you check out the post entitled “Life is Simple…Keep it Simple!”  You certainly won’t be disappointed.

3 thoughts on “Guest Appearance

  1. I haven’t tried this yet, Joe, but I have co-authored a few blog posts. For the most part, they’re online dialogues. It’s fun to do — a little tricky, but I think you’d be great at it.

  2. I think that is a great idea, I’ve been doing it in my own blog with 2 friends.

    They can choose what to post, or when… And it’s a good way to get some unexpected content every now and then :3

    I apologize for my bad english.But wanted to share my thoughts :)

    • I couldn’t agree more on your statement Evil. I think a little variety, something different every now and again is always a good thing. As I mentioned, the unity and diversity of different people coming together for a common cause is awesome.

Leave a Reply

