Weekly Photo Challenge: Simple

 

65 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Simple

    • Thank you very much. And yes, as a parent of three little children, I often get to revisit my childhood as well. It brings back a lot of good memories.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

    • Thanks Rebekah. And speaking of that, they should make a series of crayons that also smell. For example, they could have a fruit series with yellow being lemon, red being strawberries, blue for blueberries, etc.

      I better go patent that idea before someone else steals it :-)

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts!

    • Thanks Margie! Crayons are extremely versatile aren’t they? Launch, simple, whatever works. That’s the beauty of the Weekly Photo Challenge. We all have different interpretations.

      Nice to see a new visitor!

  1. That sure is a simple image Joe.
    It simply reminded me of our political parties here in Maldives.
    The prominant most three carries yello, pink, and blue :)

    • Thanks Amira. Our political parties in the United States are generally represented with red (Republicans) and blue (Democrats).

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  2. Great photo, Joe! :) Your crayons are in much better shape than mine. The kids have ripped off the paper covering to almost all of them, and scribbled them down to little nubs. And though I can’t read the names of any of the colors — it still makes me happy. Any kind of crayons make me happy — great choice for the challenge.

  3. i love this image – and I really like the fact you can see different versions of what the colour is called on the crayons…they may be simple colours but the rest of the rainbow would be lost without them :)

  4. I am an art teacher (K-8) and so the crayons are perfect to me!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and clicking the like button and leaving a nice comment for me. I look forward to following your future posts.

    • Thanks Chelsea; for the visit, comment, and like!

      I think we should be able to submit fan favorites, such as your suggestion. I’ve seen some colors of crayons that look similar to what I see in my son’s diapers from time to time. Hmmm…wonder what we’d call that?

    • It most certainly is Cris. When I was thinking what to photograph for this week, for whatever reason I immediately associated the three basic colors as simple. I think it worked out well.

      Thanks for commenting and stopping by!

    • Haha, although the white you see behind the crayons is a piece of printer paper. So I guess it was kind of included :-)

      Thanks for stopping by!

    • Indeed Judee. I remember when me and my brothers would visit our grandfather when we were little he always had the coloring books and crayons out waiting for us. Miss those days…

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  5. Nice picture Joe. But I hope if you will add some thoughts to this image to describe the challenge it will be great. I know you are good writer, so I’d love to read what’s your thought about the word “simple” with this photographs. It will be real fun if you try to take the challenge with both the image & with your words.

    • When I began the Weekly Photo Challenge I debated on whether I should just post the photo and let everyone else make their own assumption or whether I should leave my comments describing what the theme meant to me. I still haven’t decided if I’m going to leave my own description as I love hearing what other people might think about it.

      On the other hand, some people might not understand why I choose a certain photo for whatever theme I’m posting about. We’ll see how it goes.

      As always, it’s a treat to see you again Arindam!

  6. Great interpretation of this theme. Firstly, they are the basic crayons that all kids start with, and they imply that they produce simple drawings. I love how this photo can have so many different meanings. Thank you for sharing.

    • That’s the idea Kate. What’s even more fun about this Weekly Photo Challenge is that we all get to see & hear other people’s interpretations of the weekly theme.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

Leave a Reply

